First Place

There are several people in the world who are currently using Steam. When I say several, I do of course mean several thousand. Who knows how many are playing and working towards something that helped tip Steamworks as one of the greatest indie resources available: Achievements.


Now, are achievements a good thing? Who knows? All I can do in my position as blogger is to tell you what I think and hope to charge you for the priviledge (Granted, I won’t, but I can dream), so here’s my thoughts on the subject. First off, they are very good at what they do. I usually spend most of the first week or so after a TF2 update playing about and trying to get these achievements. So I’m playing the game to get these achievements, and thus am moving back to their game. So achievements are a way of getting people back to your game, even if they haven’t played them in months, especially if it encourages a different way of playing.

The problem with humans is that they must have some system of telling someone that they are better than everyone else. If I was a lesser man, I’d be rubbing it in your face that I have unlocked every single one of those medic achievements. As I am, I am obliged to tell you that I’m therefore a better dolphin than you are, since I can jump through Valve’s hoops better than you. Ah, here would be the issue.

Every TF2 update just fills the game world with idiots who just grind for these achievements forever. The scout update was particularly annoying, since there were tons of the quick-moving, self-centred pricks. I really don’t like the sound of the soldier update. Achievements are things that are useful. Especially if they are written well, and are achievable through normal game play. The problem is, that a lot of achievements just involve you playing like a twit, and in a game like TF2, it really annoys your team mates.

I’m undecided myself about whether people should keep making these achievements. Yes, they make people replay your game, but so many people make it too difficult to achieve them without completing the game simply and easily.

    • Swimming Nut!
    • December 16th, 2009

    Drugcrazed, this is the first of your blogs I have read. Don’t ask why I started in the middle. I do think this is really good though, cos I have heard you and others talk about steam and this is a really good description and explanation for someone who knows nothing about it. You may not have intended it this way, but that’s how it ended up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

